We have all heard the story of Abraham and have probably all memorized his song. Abraham was promised by God to become “the Father of many nations.” It’s a big promise/covenant that God made with him, but God was true to His word and it happened. However, people tend to overlook Sarah (Sarai). Sarah was Abraham’s wife and she could not give Abraham a son. So, Abraham had a son with his slave, Hagar.   At the age of ninety, Sarah had given up and had no hope for a child. Until one day, Sarah overheard the three men visitors tell Abraham that she was to bear him a son. At this news, Sarah, not only smiled, but laughed to herself. She said,

“After I am worn out, and my lord is old, shall I have pleasure?”-Genesis 18:12

Sarah was basically saying, “screw you, God. There is no way in hell that I could have a child at this age.” She didn’t necessarily say those words, but Sarah doubted the Lord because of her old age and it came out like that. God knew that Sarah was doubting and He said,

“Why did Sarah laugh and say, ‘Shall I indeed bear a child, now that I am old?’ Is anything too hard for the Lord?”-Genesis 18:13-14

I am very much like Sarah, because I am a big doubter. I might hear something and say, “oh no, I can’t do that,” or I come up with ideas of people who could do it better, because to me I am just, me. And me is just a simple girl who is inadequate for the works and plans that God has in store for me.  I am a little, loud, black girl who occasionally cracks a joke. So, when God pushes me on a new path that I’m scared of, I laugh. I’ve found that laughter is the best coverup for the fear/hurt we are afraid to show. That’s why people joke up being overweight or death or rape or just things that shouldn’t be joked up.

I could sit here behind my screen and tell you guys that I would’ve believed God right away if he had told ninety, wrinkly, old me that I was going to have a son. I could pretend that I would’ve leaped for joy at the idea and given God a big high five, but then I would be lying. If God had told me that, I wouldn’t have laughed to myself like Sarah did, no, I would’ve done my worst laugh ever and walked away.

However, the beauty in all of this, is that the Lord didn’t rebuke her or hurt her for doubting. No. He simply asked the question,  “Is anything too hard for the Lord?” And at the end of the day, that’s the only  question that should matter. Nothing is impossible for the Lord, absolutely nothing. 

In the end God did as he had promised and Sarah bore a son. She named him Isaac because she said,

“God has made laughter for me; everyone who hears will laugh over me.”-Genesis 21:6

I am a doubting daughter, but I realize that God always fulfills his promises and Sarah did as well. So, to all Sarahs out there (literally and not literally), you can smile, and you can laugh, but never doubt the love and covenants of the Lord.

-much love

